A friend of mine has very recently deleted her iPhone 6S Plus with iOS 12.4.6 (the "deleted" iPhone) from within Find My iPhone via iCloud.com by clicking on the "Erase iPhone" option thinking that this will only disable tracking of her iPhone. The "deleted" iPhone no longer appears in Find My iPhone menus on iCloud.com. However, because the "deleted" iPhone was turned off at the time the "Erase iPhone" option was selected on iCloud.com, the contents of the "deleted" iPhone were actually not erased.
Before the iPhone is turned on, my friend has noticed that that the action she took through iCloud.com will also erase all the contents of her "deleted" iPhone. She has then decided that she does not want her "deleted" iPhone to be erased for a number of reasons including not all the contacts on the "deleted" iPhone being synced to iCloud (although the contacts option is enabled in the "deleted" iPhone's iCloud settings).
To prevent erasing of the "deleted" iPhone at least for now, she took out the "deleted" iPhone's SIM card and disabled the internet in her home before turning on the "deleted" iPhone. She can currently get into the "deleted" iPhone without any trouble (but of course without any internet connection) and is busy writing down the contacts not synced to iCloud.com!
She also owns a second iPhone that is synced to iCloud via the same Apple ID with the "deleted" iPhone (and the second iPhone, as you might expect, doesn't have the missing contacts from iCloud.)
So here is the question:
Is there any action she can take through the "deleted" iPhone or her 2nd iPhone or a computer that will nullify at least the "erase all content" part of the command to be communicated to this iPhone from iCloud.com once it is connected to the internet?