New answers tagged

3

As of iOS 5, Apple removed the public API for scanning networks. As of iOS 7, Apple removed the ability of apps to access the MAC address of the user device. As of iOS 11, apps can no longer access the MAC addresses of devices on the same Wi-Fi network. As of iOS 13, apps require explicit access permission to Location, granted by the user, to obtain access ...


3

No, it’s not possible if the phone has received iOS updates, which it probably has. You may be able to reset it to the factory state of a new iPhone, but not to the factory state of your iPhone, because Apple works hard to ensure that you can’t downgrade iOS to the factory version.


2

The name data comes down from iCloud document and key-value-store sync. Even if you don’t use iCloud to store photos, metadata about photos does sync by default. This is similar how to small settings sync between devices. Apple could handle it like screen time where you explicitly opt in or out of this per device, but as of Big Sur and iOS 14 there is no ...


1

Since the questions was asked I have systematically blocked all the transparencyd traffic, and have not experienced any adverse side effects.


0

This drove me bananas. Should be straightforward, but it isn't. Googling returned lots of results for disabling the microphone on an application-specific basis in Big Sur, but absolutely oogatz on a global toggle to kill the microphone on a GLOBAL basis to both stop Speech Recognition from chewing up my CPU as well as shut down an open mic. I next visited &...


1

You can probably open them all with TextEdit, by drag & drop if they don't show anything in 'Open With', though it may not tell you much when you do. You can't add the file types to an app as default, as they often don't really have a file type. Some will be plaintext, some probably XML & some may be binary. Some may make slightly more sense in ...


3

I'd be more inclined towards a 'burner' VM macOS install if you're that worried. Duplicate it before any sketchy install, so you can just delete it after use, keeping the 'master' VM safe.


Top 50 recent answers are included