2

I have a MacBook Pro running Sonoma (but I think this predates it). FileVault is enabled, so automatic login is prohibited. If I restart normally, it goes to the login screen as expected.

But when I install a software update, as I did last week with 14.4.1, it restarts as part of the installation. But when this finishes, it logs back into my account.

How is it able to do this?

4
  • Restart is not the same as reboot.
    – Gilby
    Commented Apr 2 at 3:03
  • @Gilby Really? I've always thought "Restart" was just Apple's user-friendly term for reboot. There's only one option in the Apple menu, and it's called Restart. What's the difference?
    – Barmar
    Commented Apr 2 at 14:39
  • Restart, reboot etc confusing. During a cold reboot or a user induced restart, the computer starts with nothing in memory and so needs your password before opening encrypted drives. But during an update, macOS restarts a number of times without losing all context (e.g. encryption settings). Details depend on Mac type.
    – Gilby
    Commented Apr 2 at 21:43
  • It's surprising that it can preserve the context when it's replacing parts of the OS.
    – Barmar
    Commented Apr 2 at 21:46

0

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .