Today I moved (CMD-Drag) a folder from my laptop to my desktop across my LAN. The resulting file (an Ableton Live project file) opened on the desktop but is missing things that were present when it was on my laptop.
I can't figure out how this could have happened, and it got me thinking... where does the "original" actually go when you move as opposed to copy something? It doesn't just go in the trash so, is it just flagged for overwriting and made invisible? Wondering if I can somehow get the original back. I checked my Time Machine backups and somehow the folder in question is not there either (or actually, it's there but also missing things once restored).