I currently upgraded but it still shows my other iPhone on iCloud. I don't want to delete it and then my messages erase. I have certain messages I want to keep.
What will happen if I do delete it?
You will delete that backup, which has messages on that backup. The messages currently on phone, not in backup will remain in there peaceful state.