I applied for the apple up to date program through their site and got now the e-mail with a password protected pdf attachment in it. Xmr3 doesn't really sound like apple. Has anybody some additional info on this?

NOTE: I didn't visit their site because the WOT add-on in safari rated the website with a poor reputation score.


I wonder if you signed up for their Up to Date Program on a web page pretending to be the Apple website. That PDF is most likely a scam, do not open it--It could execute some malicious code. In the last seven years I have yet to see e-mail communication from Apple that does not come from apple.com. Also, I think all of their invoicing is done by using HTML-formatted e-mail messages sent to your Apple ID, not PDF's. Hope this helps.

  • The real Up to Date signup page is here: apple.com/macosx/uptodate – Ingmar Hupp Aug 24 '11 at 19:40
  • Yup. xmr3.com is a malicious spammer domain. The site is actually "blocked" by Google Chrome due to security issues. – daviesgeek Jun 10 '12 at 16:18
  • The only way I would expect a legitimate email to come through xmr3.com would be if your email hosting was through that domain. There is no way apple would contract to send mail from a non-official domain like this. Given the years of precedent for Apple never releasing software through a non-Apple domain - I would wait for an official press release from them before assuming someone stating otherwise was seen as credible. – bmike Nov 22 '12 at 15:10

It appears that xmr3.com is a spammer domain. Google "xmr3.com spam" and you'll get a large number of links to scams that have run through that domain over the years.

I can't remember the last time, if ever, Apple has sent out a password protected PDF. Best not to mess with it.

I suggest you call AppleCare to make sure that you are properly signed up for the Apple Up to Date program.


The Offical Answer is that OS X Codes are sent through the domain xmr3.com (I suspect that he meant the sender appleutd@xmr3.com)

Source: I first called the Apple Support hotline and they said that I must contact the iTunes Store through express lane on theyr site. Express Lane didn't work at that moment so I went through the contact sheet http://www.apple.com/support/itunes/contact.html and got my answer.

Some of the information contained in this post requires additional references. Please edit to add citations to reliable sources that support the assertions made here. Unsourced material may be disputed or deleted.

  • Where is it documented that Apple officially sends program emails through xm3.com? – bmike Nov 22 '12 at 15:11
  • I don't know. Like I said, I went through the official apple.com contact sheet and got the e-mail message that the domain is used by apple to send program codes. I opened the pdf and the activation code did work. So from my view the domain has to be valid because 1. The code worked and I got my upgrade and 2. An official apple.com email answer in my language did approve xmr3.com. Yes, I do hate when companies ( MegaCorps ;) ) do use the cdn's domain names instead of their original domain name, it's a real PITA for the non involved people :( – elhombre Nov 30 '12 at 21:09
  • Sorry for the editing and deleting, had to edit a typo – elhombre Nov 30 '12 at 21:10

appleutd@xmr3.com is not a scam. I received an email containing encrypted PDF. The email said password to unlock the PDF will follow and today it did. I unlocked the PDF and it contained the redeem code also it contained the reference number i got when submitting the up to date form. That number matched. Redeem code worked.

  • 1
    Even if it's not a scam - it's clearly not part of Apple's program for updating OS. Users beware. – bmike Nov 22 '12 at 15:06

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .