I'm running out of space in iCloud, so I decided to turn off all the backups and delete them.
What happens if I click "delete backup" at the bottom of the manage store page?
Do I still have my photos in the camera roll?
Ask Different is a question and answer site for power users of Apple hardware and software. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Yes! It will only delete your backup. Not your photos that are in the camera roll.
If you delete the iCloud backup for your iOS device, iCloud stops automatically backing up the device. You can also back up your device using iTunes.
The photos on the iOS device are never only stored in the backup. What would be stored in the backup are deleted pictures that you no longer have in the camera roll / albums.
Rather than delete the entire backup to make space in iCloud, you can choose to just not back up your camera roll until such time as you can get all the camera roll photos backed up elsewhere.
See my answer on How can I delete pictures off Photo Stream to free up iCloud storage space? for details.
Things get more complicated on iOS 8/9 with the advent of the Photos library stored in iCloud. You'd want to upload a picture from your phone showing the iCloud usage:
Settings > iCloud > Storage > Manage Storage
If you have an iCloud Photo Library at the top like I do above, then go to Settings > iCloud > Photos to check if your photos on that phone are part of the cloud. The steps there to make space are more involved than just deleting a backup or configuring the camera roll to not get baked up to iCloud.
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?