3

I end up with lots of screen shots that look like this:

screenshot

Obviously after a while I do not know what they are.

So I open them in Preview to see, and would like now to change the file name to something meaningful.

How do I change screenshot name while viewing in Preview.

Or is there a way to name the screen shot at the time it was taken (without auto assigning the file name). Basically, take the screenshot- pause + popup asking to name the file before it is saved, while it is still fresh in my memory what it was.

Right now I have to exit Preview while trying to remember the

"§$%&/()?*☂💀☠😤

and rename it in Finder.

I can skip the Preview and use Finders Icon or Clover view but that is not the point of my question.

Edit: My Preview must be broken since I do not have the Pull down popup

pull down

Preview Version 7.0 (826.4)

MBA 10.9.5

7
  • You could also use Cover Flow view in Finder. Then you can see exactly which file you are renaming.
    – Ɱark Ƭ
    Apr 20, 2015 at 17:54
  • @Mark, I believe to have specified that in my Question already (see last sentence)
    – Ruskes
    Apr 20, 2015 at 17:58
  • It's easier than icon view as you shouldn't have to change the icon's size. It's also why I left a comment and not and answer, it doesn't fit your criteria, but I thought it might be helpful.
    – Ɱark Ƭ
    Apr 20, 2015 at 17:59
  • 1
    I just noticed on 10.10.3 that the arrow doesn't appear until you hover the cursor over the filename in the title bar.
    – Ɱark Ƭ
    Apr 20, 2015 at 19:09
  • I am hovering.... and nothing, it might be the Mavericks or my Preview.
    – Ruskes
    Apr 20, 2015 at 20:04

4 Answers 4

5

I am using Yosemite (10.10) but I believe this feature has existed for a long while...

Simply open the file in preview and click on its name at the top of the preview window.

See screenshot:

Preview rename interface

6
  • 1
    Excellent screen shot, but you forgot the "웃"
    – Ɱark Ƭ
    Apr 20, 2015 at 17:55
  • Well my Preview must be broken. I do not have pull down arrow.
    – Ruskes
    Apr 20, 2015 at 17:56
  • Might be a 10.10 only feature
    – nohillside
    Apr 20, 2015 at 18:03
  • 1
    I had it and used it all the time! But when I reinstalled, it has disappeared. Any idea how to turn it back on?
    – uhoh
    Apr 14, 2016 at 12:59
  • I also lost this pull down menu. Apr 18, 2016 at 15:56
2

As of June 11 2015 I have not found a solution how to rename a file while in Preview on Mavericks. (10.9.5)

There is also no Save-as function so any changes are saved over the original file.

The defaults write com.apple.Preview ApplePersistence -bool no does nothing.

My work around is to use the "Export" where I can rename and save the file.

1

Instead of opening the file in Preview, you could

  • select the file in Finder
  • press Space to show the picture
  • press Enter (even with the screenshot still showing) and rename the file
0
0

Rather than using Preview you could select the files in Finder and use the Quick Look icon to check the contents. I only actually use Preview for multi-page files or those with lots of detail. (I actually use similar in my File Manager QuollEyeTree which is much easier to rename.)

1
  • Thank you, the problem is I got used to use Preview :( was hoping someone can cam up with a script that would ask to enter file name during the screenshot process.
    – Ruskes
    Apr 20, 2015 at 20:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .