2

I backup files on an encrypted volume with Timemachine (external disk, USB). The backup itself is not additionally encrypted.

I noticed little message infos in the GUI window about "decrypting the backup-volume" sometimes, e.g. when I exclude some files from the backup.

What does that mean? I thought the encryption during file copy process in both directions is handled transparently? Is there any moment where something is not encrypted on the volume?

  • Something what is encrypted, and you want to see it has to be decrypted somehow.. – Rob Feb 19 '14 at 12:44
  • But if I exclude smth. via Time-machine settings, I choose a folder on the source side, not the target. I've seen it also w/out doing anything actively (when clicking on the TM icon) @Robuust – initall Feb 19 '14 at 12:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .