Mac OS X Lion's feature that automatically saves documents as you are working on them.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
1answer
272 views

When editing files on a (Windows?) networked drive I get “could not be saved” errors

When I edit files that are stored locally, everything works fine, but when editing files that are stored on my networked home directory (at uni here), I get: The document "<x>" could not be ...
0
votes
1answer
35 views

Does Time Machine save TextEdit drafts?

Imagine you have Time Machine running with Yosemite. You open TextEdit, create a new text document in which you actually write stuff. You can turn off your computer, restart it, the document will ...
4
votes
0answers
90 views

Avoid Unwanted/Blank Text Annotations in Preview.app

When opening a PDF in Yosemite's Preview.app, I can select text using the Text Selection tool from the Markup Toolbar. However, if I don't click directly on the text, a blank text box will appear. ...
1
vote
0answers
107 views

Why does Xcode save my files in autosave information?

I ran into this problem today while writing code. Whenever I open a source file in Xcode, make changes and save them, the file will be copied to the "autosave information" folder and the references in ...
1
vote
0answers
38 views

How to quit a file without modification & without changing its modification time?

Within my work I regularly open files with Pages, Numbers, Keynote… and even if I typed anything within these files I want to be absolutely sure I didn't modify them in any way. Moreover I want to be ...
0
votes
0answers
12 views

Alternative way to “Browse All Versions”?

This morning I clicked on the Time Machine icon in my menu bar and selected "Enter Time Machine" to look at the state of my backups, but instead of the usual Finder view with the timeline on the right ...
0
votes
0answers
32 views

Can OS X Auto Save be disabled on a per folder basis?

I can disable the OS X Auto Save function globally with: defaults write -g ApplePersistence -bool no And I can disable it per application with: defaults write -app 'Preview' ApplePersistence -bool ...