Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Different is a question and answer site for power users of Apple hardware and software. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a MacBook running Snow Leopard and newer MacBook Air running Lion. If I buy the Mountain Lion upgrade through the App Store on my Air, will I be able to use the same App Store purchase on my older MacBook?

Or are OS upgrades not multi-machine friendly (somehow different from other apps that are pay-once download-many)?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 1 down vote accepted

You can upgrade to Mountain Lion from both Lion and Snow Leopard (SL). With SL you will need to be running the latest version 10.6.8 and then you can just buy it through the app store.

check this link for more details: Apple OSX Upgrade

You just need to make sure your machine can handle Mountain Lion which you can see with this app from the app store Mac Tracker - its a free app.

OS' are like normal apps - they can be installed on up to 5 machines.

Good Luck on the upgrade:-)

share|improve this answer
add comment

The Licence Agreement for Mountain Lion may be different in your jurisdiction however the UK Mac App Store states for the OS X Mountain Lion License Agreement:

B. Mac App Store License. If you obtained a license for the Apple Software from the Mac App Store, then subject to the terms and conditions... you are granted a limited non-transferable, no exclusive license:

(i) to download, install, use and run for personal, non-commercial use, one copy of the the Apple software on each Apple-branded computer running OS X Lion or OS X Snow Leopard ... that you own or control.

If you are a commercial entity, then different rules apply

Both machines need the Mac App store to be accessed using the same AppleID used to purchase Mountain Lion. You can also save yourself the 4GB download a second time around, by copying the Mountain lion Installer from the /Applications directory tot he other machine once downloaded in full, note the installer is deleted once it is installed so cancel the install once it is downloaded, copy it somewhere safe, then upgrade away.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.