Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Different is a question and answer site for power users of Apple hardware and software. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I stop the backup it says: "now encrypting...", is the data saved "not encrypted" before being encrypted? Can I make it "always encrypted"?

Non-encrypted transfers are a problem for me.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Time Machine on 10.7/10.8 uses the same encryption as any other non-system disk. When you first enable it, OS X has to encrypt the entire disk, which takes a while. The status "Encrypting" just means that it's still working on that.

You can check on the status with diskutil cs list in Terminal. Mixed in with other info, you'll see something like:

Size (Total):       124190560256 B (124.2 GB)
Size (Converted):   2539913216 B (2.5 GB)

That's 2.5 out of 124.2GB complete. Once the disk is fully encrypted, it's done for good and you'll basically never see that status again.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.